Spring is like a perhaps hand (which comes carefully out of Nowhere)arranging a window,into which people look(while people stare arranging and changing placing carefully there a strange thing and a known thing here)and changing everything carefully spring is like a perhaps Hand in a window (carefully to and fro moving New and Old things,while people stare carefully moving a perhaps fraction of flower here placing an inch of air there)and without breaking anything. — e.e. cummings

* * * * *

Yesterday was dark. Rainy. I felt really inspired. As mentioned in yesterday’s post, I started writing in this blog again. I cleaned out a few entries, changed up the theme, and here I am.

I’m painting over the nearly deafening shade of Barney purple in my childhood bedroom at my parent’s house. Painting is cathartic and I’m excited to see the finished product.

*****

I am also cat-sitting for my parents as they travel to North Carolina for the week. Here is a semi-artistic Photoshop inspired picture of the cats.

And finally, here is a recipe for the Beef Teriyaki that I cooked tonight:

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1 3/4 cups Swanson® Beef Stock

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon packed brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 boneless beef sirloin steak

OR beef top round steak, 3/4-inch thick, cut into very thin strips (about 1 pound)

4 cups fresh or frozen broccoli florets

Hot cooked rice

  • Stir the cornstarch, stock, soy sauce, brown sugar and garlic powder in a small bowl until the mixture is smooth.
  • Stir-fry the beef in a 10-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until it’s well browned, stirring often.  Pour off any fat.
  • Add the broccoli to the skillet and cook for 1 minute.  Stir in the cornstarch mixture. Cook and stir until the mixture boils and thickens. Serve the beef mixture over the rice.

I was seriously craving vegetables, so I threw in some broccoli and green peppers.

The dish could have used some crab wontons, but it was still a flavorful dinner. It paired nicely with a glass of Chardonnay.

