Breathing in the fresh air over the weekend made me feel fantastic. Revitalized. I felt refreshed, sun-kissed and free.

I often find myself phasing into healthy mode during Spring/Summer. Fresh fruit. Salads. And, feel I often get a boost of energy, perfect for summer evening walks or a few extra minutes at the gym. Today, I started my impromptu Spring Health Kick. Here’s what happened:

Gym

I tried a new gym in the area, and loved it! It had a very family friendly feel, so I could really concentrate on my workout. The machines were super fancy, with TVs and radios, which I realize is probably standard by now, but my daily workout consists of an above average elliptical with no bells or whistles. I tuned into some E News celeb trash which consisted of learning about Justin Bieber’s hair, Fergie’s high school love life and some other non event headlines that I’ve since blocked out.

Salad Bar

Naturally, after the gym I was hungry. I met my mom and we had a nice lunch at an establishment that offers one of my favorite food activities. The mystical salad bar.  I enjoy a very leafy, very well thought out salad bar. Now, the thing with me and salad bars — I go slow, and I love to pile it on. Peppers. Edamame. Broccoli. Lots of leafy green goodness everywhere. I enjoy going through the salad bar line by myself, so I can revel in each colorful, nutritious option that may (or may not) grace my salad plate. I require full concentration and will time my journey to the salad bar accordingly, to achieve the desired salad bar experience. I was not so lucky today.  As soon as I made an attempt to grab some (OK, a heaping mound) of baby spinach, at least 3 people lined up behind me! (How dare they, right?) I couldn’t dawdle. I had to make quick choices. I simply had to grab the tongs and forget about any possible technique. Yes, a crouton fell on the floor. Yes, I had to return to the salad bar later for more edamame. I am a salad bar lurker, and today, I couldn’t tarry.

Green Monster

I read a lot of food blogs, and I keep seeing a certain health drink pop up: The Green Monster. I would label myself an adventurous eater. I’ve eaten SPICY food off of a banana leaf, consumed a beverage with a raw oyster, beer and cocktail sauce in it, (and liked it), and was a vegetarian for 4 years. Therefore, I am unafraid of the following: tofu, milk from non-cow sources, beans, eggplant, nuts or oddly shaped fruit.

Tomorrow, I am going to drink this version of a Green Monster:

  • 1 Cup Ice
  • 2-3 Handfuls of Baby Spinach
  • 1 Cup Almond Vanilla Milk
  • 1 Banana
  • handful of blueberries

We shall see. And, you can bet that I’m going to submit my Green Monster experience to the Official Green Monster Blog, and post my review here.

