Today was a day of truly Green activities.

This morning I woke up and opened our back door. Husband mowed the lawn last night and did a fantastic job. I couldn’t help but snap a picture of his good work.

Then, as promised in yesterday’s post, I decided to try the Green Monster!

I had all of my ingredients in order. While I was excited about the luscious almond milk, blueberries and the banana … there was SO much spinach.

Just about to blend everything together. Had to get one more look …

And suddenly the beverage transformed, right before my eyes …

Looks a little blue because of the blueberries.

Well, I am happy to say that I am hooked on the Green Monster. I’m already looking forward to trying different versions, adding ingredients like pumpkin. I’ve been obsessed with Kashi Go Lean’s Berry Crumble cereal for the better part of 3 months, and I think between the GM and my Fage Honey Greek Yogurt, I’ve found my ideal breakfast for awhile. So creamy. So green. Doesn’t hurt that green is my favorite color, but seriously, the drink is amazing.

To round off my “Green” day, I went to see the movie ‘Greenburg.’ Very interesting. Directed/written by Noah Baumbach who can be credited with the wonderful movie, ‘The Squid and the Whale,’ ‘Greenburg” is a much different movie, but thoughtful character development and offbeat dialogue make it worth watching.  If you don’t mind awkward movies with random storylines and uncomfortable moments, this indie film is for you. I really enjoyed it, and I loved seeing it in one of my favorite local movie theatres, a favorite from college, Cinema Arts in Fairfax, VA. Saw a few promising previews, including ‘The Joneses,’ which looks very smart.

So, tell me. Have any of you tried the Green Monster before, and have I inspired you to gather up the ingredients and give it a try? You won’t regret it.

