Two weeks ago I wrote about my Annual Springtime Health Kick. And yes, all is well on the Health Kick front. Lots of trips to the gym, fresh air and lots of experiments. Experiments including Almond Milk and copious amounts of organic, triple washed baby spinach. I’m talking about that tastiest of monsters, the Green Monster, which even my Husband has requested a few times in the last couple of weeks. Love the Monster. Just bought enough Spinach and Almond Milk to get me through the next week at Wegmans yesterday, because believe me, those ingredients go fast!

I was feeling confident and daring because of the great success of the GM experiment. I’ve been reading a great Health Blog, Oh She Glows, and discovered Vegan Overnight Oats. I just had to try them.  Ingredients include:

  • 1/3 cup regular oats
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 tiny ripe banana, peeled and smashed
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

OK, I enjoy oats, love almond milk, bananas, but had never encountered a chia seed unless it was helping  Homer grow a full head of hair. I did some research on them and decided Chia was not going to hurt me. (Learn more about this superfood here.)

So, to prepare the Overnight Oats combine the above ingredients into a bowl. It may or may not look something like this:

I put it in the fridge overnight. In the morning the ‘Oh She Glows’ blog instructs that you add 2 tablespoons Nut Butter, so I added a bit from this little packet. The almond butter I found at store was almost $10 and that’s too much for a kitchen experiment.

This morning, I pulled the congealed mixture out of the fridge and nudged it with my spoon. A little scary. I had to judge. It looked pretty gross.

I tried it. Um, edible. The weird chia that attached to the bananas and almond milk had the consistency of Bubble Tea. The almond butter helped A LOT, but I didn’t add too much since it is ultra high in calories. In the end, I ate it. It was pretty nasty unless I captured some of the Almond Butter taste. Cold. Smushy. My cereal bowl has seen better days.

However, I have to say I ate this meal at 7:30 and wasn’t hungry at all until 12:30. I guess that means something. Maybe I wasn’t hungry because I was grossed out, or maybe it was the Chia …

I’m not quite ready to give up on morning oat experiments. I’m a huge oatmeal fan, and I’d like to give the Chia Seeds another chance … but you’ve got my recommendation. Beware of the Vegan Overnight Oats!

